What are the differences between the naturemade star and naturemade basic quality labels?

Both are Swiss quality labels for energy from 100% renewable sources such as water, sun, biomass and wind, but only naturemade star is eco-energy.  

All naturemade-certified plants are guaranteed to operate below the environmental pollution levels defined by naturemade (maximum of 50% of a modern combined gas-steam power plant). The producers of naturemade energy additionally implement an environmental management system to ensure that their internal environmental performance is continually improved.

naturemade basic

The naturemade basic quality label is awarded for electricity and heat from 100% renewable sources; under this label, mainly large hydroelectric power plants and waste incineration plants in Switzerland are certified. These plants ensure that energy needs are adequately covered even if there is no sun or wind. The purchase of naturemade basic-certified energy helps fund the construction of new eco-energy plants.

naturemade star

The naturemade star quality label is awarded for energy generated through particularly environmentally friendly processes. naturemade star eco-energy comes from 100% renewable sources such as water, sun, biomass and wind, and the label certifies that further stringent, comprehensive environmental conditions are met. Certification of energy generation under the naturemade star label takes the natural environment, i.e. the plant and animal species living around power plants, into particular account. This is especially important as the ever increasing use of renewable sources of energy impacts on habitats and thus biodiversity.

Environmental protection and upgrades are of particular importance when using hydroelectric power, which is why hydroelectric power plants to be certified under the naturemade star scheme not only need to comply with the relevant criteria, but operators must also pay one centime per kilowatt-hour of electricity sold into an environmental improvement fund.

Click here for a map of all naturemade-certified hydroelectric power plants in Switzerland with information on output, production, operator, year of construction and residual flow quantities for even very small plants.

Wie unterscheiden sich die Gütesiegel naturemade star und naturemade basic?

Beides sind Schweizer Gütesiegel für Energie aus 100% erneuerbaren Quellen wie Wasser, Sonne, Biomasse und Wind. Nur naturemade star ist Öko-Energie.  

Alle naturemade zertifizierten Anlagen liegen garantiert unter dem von naturemade definierten Grenzwert der Umweltbelastung (maximal 50% eines modernen Gas-Dampf-Kombikraftwerkes). Die Produzenten von naturemade Energie sorgen zudem dafür, dass dank eines Umweltmanagementsystems die betriebliche Umweltleistung Ihres Unternehmens laufend verbessert wird.

naturemade basic

Das Gütesiegel naturemade basic steht für Strom und Wärme aus 100% erneuerbaren Energiequellen. Zertifiziert sind vorwiegend Schweizer Grosswasserkraftwerke und Kehrichtverbrennungsanlagen. Diese garantieren für genügend Energie, auch wenn die Sonne nicht scheint oder die Windräder stillstehen. Mit dem Kauf von naturemade basic zertifizierter Energie wird der Zubau von neuen ökologischen Anlagen finanziert.

naturemade star

Das Gütesiegel naturemade star zeichnet besonders umweltschonend produzierte Energie aus. Diese Öko-Energie stammt aus 100% erneuerbaren Energiequellen wie Wasser, Sonne, Biomasse und Wind und bürgt für die Einhaltung zusätzlicher strenger und umfassender ökologischer Auflagen. Bei der Produktion wird auf die Natur, also auf die in der Umgebung lebenden Pflanzen und Tiere, Rücksicht genommen. Dies ist gerade deshalb wichtig, weil die immer stärkere Nutzung von erneuerbaren Quellen Auswirkungen auf die Lebensbedingungen und somit auf die Artenvielfalt hat.

Der Schutz und die Aufwertung der Umgebung ist vor allem bei der Nutzung der Wasserkraft von Bedeutung. Deshalb fliessen zusätzlich zu den strengen Kriterien bei mit naturemade star zertifizierten Wasserkraftwerken jeweils ein Rappen pro verkaufte Kilowattstunde in einen Fonds für ökologische Verbesserungsmassnahmen.

Sehen Sie hier eine Karte mit allen naturemade zertifizierten Wasserkraftwerken der Schweiz. Auch zu kleinsten Kraftwerken finden Sie Angaben zu Leistung, Produktion, Betreiber, Baujahr und Restwassermenge.