Both nature and the environment benefit from the sale of naturemade-certified power products

If you subscribe to electricity products from naturemade star-certified hydroelectric power plants, you contribute to an environmental improvement fund. Evidence has shown that this commitment directly benefits nature and the environment.

One centime is paid into an environmental improvement fund for each kilowatt-hour of electricity sold by naturemade star-certified hydroelectric power plants. These funds are regularly applied to projects in the vicinity of the respective power plants in order to upgrade the environment.

The individual measures to be funded are negotiated by a fund group that comprises the power plant operator, local authorities and environmental organisations. The funds are managed by the operator. Monies from the funds may not be used for measures aimed at compliance with certification criteria.

The Limmat river, which was once canalised, after rehabilitation. (Photo: ewz)

Rehabilitation, revitalisation, upgrades

Examples of environmental improvements include rehabilitations and revitalisations of rivers or upgrades of bodies of water to improve biodiversity. These measures benefit all animal and plant species in the area, but especially endangered species such as midwife toads.

Click here for a Swiss map of implementation examples of the environmental improvement funds. Each example is listed with a short description and information on the respective operator and time frame.

Rehabilitations of bodies of water allow red poppies to become re-established. (Photo: ewz)

Upgrades also create habitats for endangered midwife toads. (Photo: Jan Ryser)

So profitieren Natur und Umwelt vom Verkauf von Stromprodukten mit dem Gütesiegel naturemade

Wer Stromprodukte aus Wasserkraftwerken mit dem Gütesiegel naturemade star bestellt, zahlt in einen Fonds für ökologische Verbesserungsmassnahmen ein. Tatbeweise zeigen: Dieses Engagement kommt direkt Natur und Umwelt zugute.

Pro verkaufte Kilowattstunde Strom aus naturemade star zertifizierten Wasserkraftwerken fliesst ein Rappen in den Fonds. Mit diesen Geldern werden regelmässig Projekte im Einzugsgebiet der Anlagen realisiert, um dieses ökologisch aufzuwerten.

Die Massnahmen werden von einem Fondsgremium bestehend aus dem Betreiber des Kraftwerks, den lokalen Behörden und den Umweltschutzorganisationen ausgehandelt. Der Fonds wird vom Betreiber verwaltet. Mit den Mitteln aus dem Fonds dürfen keine Massnahmen finanziert werden, welche der Erfüllung der Zertifizierungskriterien dienen.

Die früher kanalisierte Limmat nach ihrer Renaturierung. (Bild ewz)

Renaturierungen, Revitalisierungen, Aufwertungen

Beispiele für ökologische Verbesserungsmassnahmen sind Renaturierungen und Revitalisierungen von Flussläufen oder  Aufwertungen von Gewässern zugunsten der Artenvielfalt. Von solchen Massnahmen profitiert die gesamte Tier- und Pflanzenwelt, insbesondere aber auch gefährdete Arten wie die Geburtshelferkröte. 

Sehen Sie hier eine Schweizer Karte mit Umsetzungsbeispielen des Fonds für ökologische Verbesserungsmassnahmen. Zu jedem aufgeführten Beispiel finden Sie Angaben zu Unternehmen und Zeitraum sowie einen Kurzbeschrieb.

Durch Renaturierungen von Gewässern wird der Rote Mohn an Flussufern wieder heimisch. (Bild ewz)

Aufwertungen schaffen auch Lebensräume für die gefährdete Geburtshelferkröte. (Bild Jan Ryser)